I feel fat right now. No, I am not just being hormonal or acting like a silly weight obsessed female. I went to Food Lion the other day (aka Chow Kitty) to do some grocery shopping upon our return home from Los Angeles. I had cut out all of my coupons, cross referenced it with sales, and prepared to do a "big shop" which would last us about 3 weeks. I didn't think this was such an abnormal thing to do....however, when I arrived at the register (manned by a 40 something woman with frizzy frazzled hair and apparently very few social skills) I discovered that I was wrong. She kept scanning my items and looking in the cart to see how much I had left to put on the counter. My first thought was that she was close to the end of her shift and I was standing between her and a date with a much needed cigarette. Next, she finished ringing me up and looked at me and said (with her ever lovely southern twang) "Geez Lady, what army are you feedin?" "Excuse me?" I replied. "All this food! How many people are you trying to feed?? You must have LOTS of kids, huh?" I admit, this caught me way off guard. I had purchased ~180$ worth of food for 75$. "Uhhh, no army. Just me and my husband." She then looked at me out of the side of her eye, as if I was harboring illegal immigrants in my basement, and said "oh, Okayyyyyy. Have a good evenin." I will not go on a rant about grocery profiling, but beware....it's out there people!!!!!!
Does this look like I'm feeding an army to you?


No comments:
Post a Comment